Explore & discover

Helpful Links

Genie HR54

Highlighted
Teacher

Genie HR54

I'm new to DIRECTV.

My undestanding is that the Genie HD DVR HR54 is REQUIRED to receive the DIRECTV 4K channels, providing I also have the Ultimate or Premire package & a 4K TV. HOWEVER, the HR54 box doesn't have the software/firmware to accomodate/recognize 4K when DIRECTLY connected to a 4K TV. It simply enables a C61 Genie Mini to recognize 4K.

I have two 4K TVs; one that's now connected to a C61 Genie Mini. It is getting 4K channels & signal, but the other 4K TV, which is connected to the HR54 does NOT recognize 4K! Is a software/firmware upgrade for the HR54 in the works to correct this & if so, when?   

Also...

4K "product knowledge" is lacking as I've spoken to four reps/techs & gotten four DIFFERENT explainations about whats needed for 4K service! 

Message 1 of 13
ACE - Expert
Solution
Accepted by topic author
Accepted by Telcoman
‎08-13-2016 5:20 PM

Re: Genie HR54

No. the HR54 doesn't have the hardware to output 4K over HDMI you need another C61K as no software will fix the HR54 and at this time the HR54 will only stream to one 4K TV at a time.

Award for Community Excellence 2019 Achiever*
*The views and opinions expressed on this forum are purely my own. Any product claim, statistic, quote, or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer, provider, or party.
Tags (1)
Message 2 of 13
Expert
Solution
Accepted by topic author
Accepted by Telcoman
‎08-13-2016 5:38 PM

if your TV is DIRECTV Ready, you can use that instead of a C61K as well. Same monthly fee as a client. 

Tags (1)
Message 3 of 13
Teacher

According to the list on DIRECT TV's support page, my 4K TV that's directly connected to the HR54 is DIRECTV 4K Ready so, it should have the built-in RVU technology.