Explore & discover

Helpful Links

Re: Direct tv app won’t play on TV.

Tutor

Direct tv app won’t play on TV.

When I connect my iPhone app to my smart TV I’m getting a message  HDMI output not supported .  It worked fine up to last week.   I have a different TV app and that one works. I only get that message when using DIRECTV app . 

Message 1 of 127
Contributor

Let me set the record straight. The answers you're getting from ATT/DTV is crap.

This started because of the merging of accounts between the two. There is nothing wrong with the app. They know this. They know what the problem is too. It's an authentication issue created by the account merger. They also could easily fix it. Thousands have been impacted.

I'm an engineer and programmer. It's not hardware as everyone's phones didn't break at the same time.

It's not the app as it worked before the merging of my accounts and I had not upgraded my app version. I did afterwards and still have the same issue.

Apple devices give a error encountered message. Android devices give an error 0651 - Account not active.

ATT either does not want to fix it or they are deciding if they should, which will be determined by how many people pitch a fit.

They gave me a $24 credit. I want my account fixed instead. I requested an escalation to tier 2 or 3 support and they claim they don't have that. A lie if one was ever told. Rep did claim he escalated the case non the less. Still, no joy in my situation.

This is the truth people. Deal with it or not.

I'm Derrick Grayson, otherwise known as TMOT.

Message 31 of 127
ACE - Expert

You are talking about a different issue entirely. OP is trying to stream from his phone to the TV. It has worked for some people in the past but is now definitely not supported.

Award for Community Excellence 2019 Achiever*