Explore & discover

Helpful Links

Re: iPhone 6 Device Unlock Error - AT&T says IMEI number doesn't match a compatible device

Mentor

iPhone 6 Device Unlock Error - AT&T says IMEI number doesn't match a compatible device

I can't unlock my iPhone 6 (which is out of contract) because AT&T claim the IMEI number dosn't match a compatible device. This is the error message that I have been getting 3 times in a row:

"Your unlock request was denied because the IMEI number doesn’t match a device that’s compatible with the AT&T network.

Check the IMEI number by dialing *#06#, or check the device settings, and then submit a new request."

This is of course nonsense, since I have been using my iPhone on the AT&T network for 2 years. I triple checked the IMEI number and it is correct. The device gives me the same correct number either when I look it up through device settings or when I dial *#06#.  This iPhone - purchased through Apple and activated through AT&T - was on a 2-year plan and is now paid off.

I really need to unlock this phone. Customer service can't or won't help. Why can't this issue not be fixed by a simple phone call?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Markus

Message 1 of 159
Highlighted
ACE - Sage
Solution
Accepted by ACE - Sage (ACE - Sage)
Accepted by lizdance40
‎10-21-2017 9:25 AM

Re: iPhone 6 Device Unlock Error - AT&T says IMEI number doesn't match a compatible device

For those who are being sent in circles....

1.   The IMEI doesn’t register on ATT until you activate and use the device on ATT.  

2.   If you bought a prepaid phone, you cannot get it unlocked without the required 6 months on ATT.  The past loop hole is closed on these lower priced phones and ATT will not make an exception.

3.   iPads are not locked.