The new iPhone 15
THX1965's profile

Mentor

• 

17 Messages

Sunday, February 19th, 2017 7:44 PM

Closed

Device Unlock Error - AT&T says IMEI number doesn't match a compatible device

I can't unlock my iPhone 6 (which is out of contract) because AT&T claim the IMEI number dosn't match a compatible device. This is the error message that I have been getting 3 times in a row:

"Your unlock request was denied because the IMEI number doesn’t match a device that’s compatible with the AT&T network.

Check the IMEI number by dialing *#06#, or check the device settings, and then submit a new request."

This is of course nonsense, since I have been using my iPhone on the AT&T network for 2 years. I triple checked the IMEI number and it is correct. The device gives me the same correct number either when I look it up through device settings or when I dial *#06#.  This iPhone - purchased through Apple and activated through AT&T - was on a 2-year plan and is now paid off.

I really need to unlock this phone. Customer service can't or won't help. Why can't this issue not be fixed by a simple phone call?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Markus

Voyager

• 

2 Messages

7 years ago

Unlocking works! AT&T: We’ve approved your request to unlock your device.

Tutor

• 

5 Messages

7 years ago

I am in the process of filing an FCC Complaint as it has been over a week since my initial request for unlocking. This needs to be spread to the news media for actual changes to occur.

Contributor

• 

1 Message

7 years ago

Same issue here. Requested an unlock 2 weeks ago through an AT&T representative. Denied. Put in request for unlock yesterday. Denied. Considering I paid off my phone AND am already out of the country I could not be more dissatisfied with the service. I can't even call anyone to resolve the issue.

Contributor

• 

1 Message

7 years ago