drjorg's profile

Tutor

• 

5 Messages

Tuesday, September 27th, 2016 1:53 AM

Closed

The iphone insurance is a scam - please be advised

Dear AT&T,

The insurance program you offer for iphones is a scam. I have been paying roughly $10.00 a month in order to "protect" my iphone purchase for the last 9 months. I am a PhD student and an extra $10.00 a month can add up. But, I thought it would be worth it since I am very dependent on this device and would likely not have the money to pay for a new phone if something happened. I mean that is typically why a person would purchase insurance for an item.

Unfortunately, today I dropped my phone. Once I picked it up I noticed that the screen was cracked and a panic began to fill my body. How am I going to get this fixed? What is it going to cost? And then I remembered.. Don't panic. You bought the insurance. It will be covered and you will be okay. After speaking with your customer service and the insurance company I realized I had been lied to. That you have been take $10.00 a month from me, only to try to charge me an additional $189; which is more than the full price of getting a screen replaced from apple ($138). So, in total you want $189 in addition to the $90 I have paid? This is nuts. It is unethical and I intend to make sure everyone knows to NEVER buy your insurance.

Today I paid $138.00 to apple to get the screen replaced. If I had never paid for your insurance I would only be out $138. But I have truely paid $228 for this replacement. $90 for nothing. Not to mention I was told at the time of purchased the phone I was told there would be no deductable. 

Also, You should probably change your website that says screen replacement is $89.00.

Thanks for appreciating my over ten years of supporting your company by scamming me.

https://www.att.com/shopcms/media/att/2016/shop/wireless/documents/Mobile-Insurance-Brochure-En.pdf

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

ACE - Expert

• 

16.5K Messages

8 years ago