If you are prepaid you should wait till the 30 days are up or you lose the plan you just paid for.
If you’re postpaid, the previous plan has to still be available. If it’s not on the website anymore, or one of the options when you look in your online account, then it’s gone and you can’t go back.
(The following is included after all posts to save typing) I don’t work for AT&T. My replies are based on experience and reading content available on the website. Our answers are honest, but not always appreciated. If you posted personal information, please edit and remove.
Award for Community Excellence 2019 Achiever* *The views and opinions expressed on this forum are purely my own. Any product claim, statistic, quote, or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer, provider, or party.