For the mom who gives us everything - Mother's Day gifts that connects us.
The new iPhone 15
Clirkus's profile

Contributor

• 

1 Message

Tuesday, August 26th, 2014 8:42 PM

First smartphone, how much data do I need?

I have never had a smartphone or a phone with a service plan, but I plan on getting an iPhone soon. However, I am unsure about how much data I am going to use. I am a working college student and I will be paying for it by myself, so I'm trying to be economical, but I also want to make sure that I don't get too little. 

I expect to be using my phone on wi-fi most of the time and for most social media, recreation, etc. As I understand, AT&T's plan gives you however many GBs of data that you pay for, and unlimited talk/text (correct me if I'm wrong). 

I am unsure how much data I will use so I don't know how much I should get in my plan, since I'm not terribly needy. I want to know how other people decided on their data plans. 

Former Employee

• 

107 Messages

10 years ago

If you aren't going to do a lot of streaming on the network with pandora, netflix, etc. I would say 1 or 2 gb is a pretty safe bet, especially if you keep your cellular off when you are on wifi. 2 gb has a more reasonable overage than the 1 gb plan. 2 gb w.o a contract is only 65$. It's 80$ w/ a contract. The one GB plan is 65 w/ a contract and w.o a contract it is only 50$, but the overage is 20$ for 500mb as opposed to 15$/1gb with the 2 gb plan.

Scholar

• 

72 Messages

10 years ago

I used this site from AT&T and it gave me a very reasonable estimate of what I should expect based on my usage.  If you're not sure how much data, you can always go with the higher option and adjust once you have a couple of months worth of usage.  🙂

http://www.att.com/att/datacalculator/#fbid=NSEWewV8ysg

• 

25.7K Messages

10 years ago