The new iPhone 15
THX1965's profile

Mentor

• 

17 Messages

Sunday, February 19th, 2017 7:44 PM

Closed

Device Unlock Error - AT&T says IMEI number doesn't match a compatible device

I can't unlock my iPhone 6 (which is out of contract) because AT&T claim the IMEI number dosn't match a compatible device. This is the error message that I have been getting 3 times in a row:

"Your unlock request was denied because the IMEI number doesn’t match a device that’s compatible with the AT&T network.

Check the IMEI number by dialing *#06#, or check the device settings, and then submit a new request."

This is of course nonsense, since I have been using my iPhone on the AT&T network for 2 years. I triple checked the IMEI number and it is correct. The device gives me the same correct number either when I look it up through device settings or when I dial *#06#.  This iPhone - purchased through Apple and activated through AT&T - was on a 2-year plan and is now paid off.

I really need to unlock this phone. Customer service can't or won't help. Why can't this issue not be fixed by a simple phone call?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Markus

Contributor

• 

1 Message

6 years ago

I am having a similar issue. Imei is not recognized online. Can you message me privately so this matter can be addressed. Thanks 

Tutor

• 

4 Messages

6 years ago

I wish they were that helpful for us. We’ve spent weeks trying to get our phones unlocked. Getting this same reasoning. The phone was purchased through them and has been paid off. They still refuse to unlock it saying it’s not an att phone 

Contributor

• 

2 Messages

5 years ago

I have iPhone 6 Plus and I don’t revive call and txt some one stole my IMEI num. what can I do . 

Contributor

• 

1 Message

5 years ago