The new iPhone 15
THX1965's profile

Mentor

• 

17 Messages

Sunday, February 19th, 2017 7:44 PM

Closed

Device Unlock Error - AT&T says IMEI number doesn't match a compatible device

I can't unlock my iPhone 6 (which is out of contract) because AT&T claim the IMEI number dosn't match a compatible device. This is the error message that I have been getting 3 times in a row:

"Your unlock request was denied because the IMEI number doesn’t match a device that’s compatible with the AT&T network.

Check the IMEI number by dialing *#06#, or check the device settings, and then submit a new request."

This is of course nonsense, since I have been using my iPhone on the AT&T network for 2 years. I triple checked the IMEI number and it is correct. The device gives me the same correct number either when I look it up through device settings or when I dial *#06#.  This iPhone - purchased through Apple and activated through AT&T - was on a 2-year plan and is now paid off.

I really need to unlock this phone. Customer service can't or won't help. Why can't this issue not be fixed by a simple phone call?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Markus

Teacher

• 

11 Messages

7 years ago

Really, something is going on.  Im still locked and have been trying since the 17th!  I know once I do switch, I vow never to give ATT another dime.

Tutor

• 

5 Messages

7 years ago

So I have been trying for over a week as well. Put in a ticket with AT&T 5 days ago and have heard nothing. So frustrated I went to the local AT&T store last night and it was beyond horrible! We ended up just walking out because they were so nasty and mean to us. Just rude! Can't believe they have jobs. Once I finally get this resolved, we plan on writing to whom ever about these issues and their lack of customer service. Just sad that hundreds of people have this issue and AT&T is the only carrier that is giving issues.