Ask a question
Search in Wireless Forums

Wireless Forum

Reply
Posted Jan 29, 2014
4:04:01 PM
View profile
WARNING! HTC One X AT&T 4.2.2 update? - pictures deleted and my device still says I'm on 4.1.1

I bought this phone the week it first launched and I've been on 4.1.1 (and running reasonably well) since 4.1.1 was released.

 

About an hour ago, I checked for an update, which it said was avaiable. I downloaded the update and, before I installed it clearly said that nothing would be deleted....

 

After the update, I've found that I'm still on 4.1.1 and all my pictures were deleted. The pictures are backed up on Carbonite, so it is not a big loss, but everyone else should be aware of this.

 

Maybe this was a pre-cursor update and not the actual 4.2.2 update? Does anyone know?

I bought this phone the week it first launched and I've been on 4.1.1 (and running reasonably well) since 4.1.1 was released.

 

About an hour ago, I checked for an update, which it said was avaiable. I downloaded the update and, before I installed it clearly said that nothing would be deleted....

 

After the update, I've found that I'm still on 4.1.1 and all my pictures were deleted. The pictures are backed up on Carbonite, so it is not a big loss, but everyone else should be aware of this.

 

Maybe this was a pre-cursor update and not the actual 4.2.2 update? Does anyone know?

WARNING! HTC One X AT&T 4.2.2 update? - pictures deleted and my device still says I'm on 4.1.1

5,431 views
1 reply
(0) Me too
(0) Me too
Reply
View all replies
(1)
0
(0)
  • Rate this reply
View profile
Jan 30, 2014 7:58:30 AM
0
(0)
Professor

Thanks for the heads up on losing the photos.  At least you are smart enough to backup what is important to you (which many folks are not).  For others, with any major OS update, you should back up any important personal data.  Updates are not "supposed" to delete anything.  But you should backup anyway to be safe.

 

There is a 16 MB update that gets downloaded and installed before the actual full (500+ MB) 4.2.2 Sense 5 update.  It sounds like you just got the "intermediate" update.  The 16MB update doesn't seem to change anything, based on reports by others.  Likely just some preparatory updated needed before the "real" one.

Thanks for the heads up on losing the photos.  At least you are smart enough to backup what is important to you (which many folks are not).  For others, with any major OS update, you should back up any important personal data.  Updates are not "supposed" to delete anything.  But you should backup anyway to be safe.

 

There is a 16 MB update that gets downloaded and installed before the actual full (500+ MB) 4.2.2 Sense 5 update.  It sounds like you just got the "intermediate" update.  The 16MB update doesn't seem to change anything, based on reports by others.  Likely just some preparatory updated needed before the "real" one.

Re: WARNING! HTC One X AT&T 4.2.2 update? - pictures deleted and my device still says I'm on 4.1

2 of 2 (5,263 Views)
Share this post
Share this post