The Samsung Galaxy S24
Maintainin's profile

Tutor

• 

10 Messages

Saturday, September 16th, 2017 12:13 AM

Question on unlocking ATT Galaxy S8+

Hi, I just unlocked my Galaxy S8+ thru ATT. I have never done this before and am a little confused on how this works when selling the phone to someone else. I plan on selling the phone on swappa. So I went thru the unlock procedure. ATT sent me an email saying they accepted my unlock request and the email contained an unlock code. When is this code used? Is it used when a different sim is installed in the phone? If so wouldn’t the person I sold the phone to need this code for when they install their sim? Thanks

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

ACE - Expert

• 

6.6K Messages

7 years ago

You should use this code to unlock the phone yourself. Simplest way is to borrow a T-Mobile SIM card and enter the code when prompted. AT&T has given out wrong codes on more that one occasion, so you definitely want to make sure your code is correct before selling our phone as unlocked, otherwise there may be some embarrassment. Once the phone is unlocked it should stay unlocked.

Tutor

• 

10 Messages

7 years ago

I don’t know anyone on t mobile.

ACE - Expert

• 

6.6K Messages

7 years ago

I don't know if all stores are the same, but when I was unlocking my wife's first iPhone a few years ago I just went into a local T-Mobile store, explained my situation and asked to borrow their demo SIM for a minute. 

Tutor

• 

10 Messages

7 years ago

Great idea. I may also just stop by ATT store and see what they can do. At the very least maybe they got a t mobile sim or something I can use. Thanks for your help!

Contributor

• 

2 Messages

6 years ago