The Samsung Galaxy S24
fcoops's profile

Tutor

• 

11 Messages

Sunday, May 12th, 2019 5:49 PM

Moto G6 Android updates

I've been using Motorola phones on AT&T for several years now and it seems that since I don't buy my phones from AT&T they aren't getting timely updates. Why is this? I pay my bills like everyone else.

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

ACE - Sage

• 

116.6K Messages

5 years ago

@fcoops wrote:

I didn't buy my phone from AT&T, that's the problem. I'm an outcast, it doesn't matter that I have 5 lines through them. I didn't buy AT&T phones from them.

Unless your phone boots with an AT&T Death Star, your updates do NOT come through AT&T.  At&t only has updates for its own branded phones.  Unlocked phones update direct from the manufacturer.  Your problem is Lenova.  

The Moto G6 was not sold by AT&T in the USA.  They do sell the G6 play.     ATT Mexico sold the G6, but you have to be using their service, in Mexico, to get updates.  

ACE - Professor

• 

2.2K Messages

5 years ago

Have you looked here to see if an update might be available?:  https://support.motorola.com/ca/en/products/cell-phones/moto-g-family/moto-g6?cl=1

Tutor

• 

11 Messages

5 years ago

That's my point, there are no updates if AT&T doesn't push them. Motorola has released them but the carrier pushes the update.

ACE - Professor

• 

2.2K Messages

5 years ago

Sorry, for some reason I thought you were using a model that wasn't carrier branded. 

Tutor

• 

11 Messages

5 years ago

I didn't buy my phone from AT&T, that's the problem. I'm an outcast, it doesn't matter that I have 5 lines through them. I didn't buy AT&T phones from them.

Tutor

• 

11 Messages

5 years ago

Interesting since Motorola and AT&T have both said the carrier pushes the updates.

ACE - Sage

• 

116.6K Messages

5 years ago

@fcoops wrote:

Interesting since Motorola and AT&T have both said the carrier pushes the updates.