The Samsung Galaxy S24
bcrsr's profile

Tutor

• 

8 Messages

Wednesday, April 13th, 2011 1:15 AM

Coming from EVO on Sprint to Inspire on AT&T

So, I left Sprint due to pathetic customer service. Sprint phone/data service was ALWAYS excellent. I don't want to start a carrier bashfest here so I will lay out some of the issues I have with the handset. I should say that the customer service has been great so far here with AT&T. I hope it stays that way. Also, I should state up front, that I am Android experienced individual, so I am not a noob here. Now, on to the Inspire...

1. Battery gets leeched to death from AT&T bloatware with no simple way to remove it on a permanent basis and no fix or solution from AT&T. Sales people are clueless here and say that there is nothing wrong with the phone. They are correct, it's AT&T software, but offer no solution.

2. No default visual voicemail application and when a voicemail is left on the handset, the number that is displayed is the number you call to retrieve your voicemail.

3. Phone restarts itself at random. Not sure what this is about, but in fairness, it only happens on one of two handsets loaded with the same apps, purchased from the same store on the same date. Could be hardware issue...

4. Speakerphone is almost useless. Tinny sounding and low volume level even at maximum.

5. Lastly, the profoundly stupid decision to keep me from loading non-market applications on the phone that I have purchased and own.

If ANYONE has any fix or solutions other than "root your phone" or "switch ROM's", please post them. I am just about ready to return this Inspire and get the iPhone because my kids have 3GS's and they only have to deal with #5 above and I can live with that.

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Professor

• 

3K Messages

13 years ago

Just Google "sideload wonder machine", which is a small desktop app that allows sideloading 3rd party apps without root.