The Samsung Galaxy S24
jdanniel's profile

Tutor

• 

9 Messages

Saturday, September 7th, 2013 9:49 PM

Can I Change the Default Tone that is Played Whenever I Use my Galaxy Express?

Hello, everyone.  

I’m new to AT&T (been a subscriber for just two days), and have a prepaid Go Phone account.  My phone is a Samsung Galaxy Express.  This is the first “smart phone” I’ve ever owned, and I’m still getting used to it.

I have one question:  Whenever I use the phone, I frequently hear a tone, like a drop of water hitting more water.  It sounds to me like “doink.”

I know how to turn off the sounds completely, so I hear nothing at all, but what I’d like to know is:  Can I actually CHANGE the sound from the default to something else? 

If I can, what is that procedure, and where would I find other tones I can use instead?  The default tone is driving me nuts.  Thank you!   Jd

Professor

• 

2.7K Messages

11 years ago

Which phone event (text message, email, etc.) triggers the notification sound?  I don't have your phone, but I think that the menu will be similar to mine.  Go to your applications drawer, select Settings>Sound>Ringtones and Notifications.  Once you select this, you can change the notification sound or select "Silent".

Expert

• 

20.5K Messages

11 years ago

Not sure but could it be a possibility that it could be the minute minder?

Tutor

• 

9 Messages

11 years ago

Thank you for the replies.

Honestly, the phone events that trigger the sound are pretty much EVERYTHING.  Basically, whenever I touch the screen!  When I press an icon, I hear that sound.  When I make a phone call, every time I touch the phone's keypad, it makes a sound.

The Settings sections you mentioned are not what makes this sound.  There is a section under System that says Touch Sounds:  Play sound when making screen selection.  This option is checked.  I unchecked it, and that silenced the phone.  The sound stopped.