11-22-2016 12:06 PM
Hey there @Mickey_Black!
That’s a fantastic question!
This doesn’t necessarily mean that someone is tracking you with the application. However the feature is enabled, so anyone with access to the login would be able to do so.
If you do not wish for the phone to track, you can disable it on the main app screen by going to location, however this will make it unable to be found by this service in the event the phone is lost or stolen.
I hope that helps out, have a fantastic day and welcome to the AT&T Community!
Fiona, AT&T Community Specialist
02-17-2017 7:57 AM
I have also gotten this message, however I have never used this app, never set it up, never even knew it existed. How do I turn it off since I do not have a login(nor do I wish to get one)?
02-17-2017 8:21 AM
Welcome to the Community Forums, I hope you’re having a good morning! I’m sorry you are receiving messages from Protect Plus. I can see how this would be concerning.
This application comes with your insurance; you can get in contact with Asurion to see if they can remove the feature. If they do, Asurion will not be able to GPS track your phone if it gets lost or stolen. You can get in contact with them by calling 888-562-8662.
You also have the option to turn off your location services, which will make it impossible to track your phone, and will not receive these messages.
I hope this helps, have a great day!
Daniel, AT&T Community specialist
02-17-2017 8:42 AM
02-17-2017 9:03 AM
Hello there @coop888!
Welcome back to the Community Forums! Disabling the app alone on your device will not stop the service permanently. To permanently stop the service and messages, you will have to change your insurance package. You can learn how to do this online here.
Also, the app is optional for download to securely manage content. If you disabled the app, you may need to contact ProTech support directly at 866-562-8662. This way you can also leave your location on for other apps which may need the feature in your phone.
I hope this helps answer your inquiry. Have an amazing weekend!
Daniel, AT&T Community Specialist
- edited 11-06-2017 12:16 PM
Could this app be used to hide your location? Incase someone is trying to track you down??
11-08-2017 3:55 PM
I don’t even have the “App” on my iPhone to disable it. I went to the Apple App Store and could not find the App anywhere and I have no history in my iCloud showing that I ever had it. In my search I typed AT &T Protection Plus and the only results I got were Apps for blocking callers. Am I searching in the App Store incorrectly? I tried going through my regular ATT App and there was nothing there that I saw. I have disabled the find my iPhone on my phone’s settings. But still get these Protection Plus texts and I don’t like the idea of anyone being able to “track” me. HELP!!!!
11-23-2017 8:54 AM
I too get the app message that Protect Plus is tracking my location. I do not have insurance for my phone; my location services function is turned off; and there is no Protect Plus app anywhere to be found on my phone or in the home page search engine. What gives, and is someone still tracking my phone?
11-23-2017 9:38 AM
I feel your frustration! I still haven’t been able to find anything out about this! And I’m still getting the text messages. I do have insurance on my iPhone but it shouldn’t be this complicated. I don’t understand how anything can be tracking me when I don’t even have the app!!!! If I had the app I could go into my settings and just turn off the location services for it but the app is invisible and doesn’t show up anywhere and still nothing in App Store! So frustrating!
11-25-2017 2:51 PM
I have the same problem, I keep getting those messages as well. Whats crazy is when my contract was up 3 months ago I switched carriers. Why am I still being tracked for insurance purposes by an app that I’ve never had on my phone or have even heard of?
11-29-2017 6:29 AM
This is a total invasion of privacy. Most smartphones come with the the ability to locate the phone via native location services. I am OK with that part. However, for some one like Asurion to have that ability, especially when you can't terminate the process independently is extremely wrong. I shouldn't have to cancel my phone insurance plan to eliminate this, but I would be more than happy to do so.
12-02-2017 8:05 AM
Hi, my location services is off and I still receive this message: "TT Protect Plus app is configurated to record your location history", how can I still receive this messages?