Get the myAT&T app
ConThomas's profile

Contributor

• 

2 Messages

Saturday, October 8th, 2011 7:09 PM

Does "No Commitment" also mean unlocked?

Hello, I live in Canada but I would like to buy the Sony Ericsson Xperia PLAY 4G from AT&T because it's No Commitment pricing is about 200$ cheaper then the No Commitment prices in Canada, and also the 4G edition of the Xperia PLAY hasn't even come to Canada yet. I really would like to know that if I bought the phone in the USA, could I bring it back to Canada and use a SIM card from a Canadian wireless service provider? Thank you for any assistance!

(Sorry if I am posting this in the wrong section, this is my first time on these forums)

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Professor

• 

1.8K Messages

12 years ago

@ConThomas wrote:

Hello, I live in Canada but I would like to buy the Sony Ericsson Xperia PLAY 4G from AT&T because it's No Commitment pricing is about 200$ cheaper then the No Commitment prices in Canada, and also the 4G edition of the Xperia PLAY hasn't even come to Canada yet. I really would like to know that if I bought the phone in the USA, could I bring it back to Canada and use a SIM card from a Canadian wireless service provider? Thank you for any assistance!

(Sorry if I am posting this in the wrong section, this is my first time on these forums)

AT&T phones are locked. You can go to this post to read about unlocking AT&T phones.

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Professor

• 

3K Messages

12 years ago

No Commitment just means you pay full retail, and don't have to commit to a 2-year service contract with AT&T.  It has nothing to do with being unlocked.  All phones sold by AT&T are locked.  And they will only give unlock codes to customers, and only 10 months after the phone is released.