Get Unlimited Talk, Text, & Data for $40/mo. when you sign up for AutoPay. Plus, Mexico & Canada included!
avp387's profile

Tutor

• 

5 Messages

Wednesday, September 18th, 2013 9:06 PM

New to Prepaid: Getting SIM, Plan, Porting etc. for Google Nexus

Hello, I am sorry if this has already been answered. I am new to the prepaid world and getting ready switch from verizon to ATT by next month when my contract ends.

My plan is to buy 2 google nexus phones for me and my wife. My wife will be on Wifi all the time and does not require data. Therefore, I would like to have $40 plan on my nexus and $25 plan on my wife's phone. I have no clue where to start the process.

Question 1: Can I just get a SIM card, buy a prepaid plan, activate the sim card, pop it into the phone, and go? Do I have to buy a prepaid phone along with the plan as well? When I try to do this online, I do not see the option to "bring your own device". I do not want to buy phones from ATT as I will already have 2 Nexus phones.

What do I do after I buy the 2 phones? I am confused about the order of the steps:

Question 2. Is getting SIM cards the next step? I know I can get ATT micro SIM cards for free at the Store. But do I have to buy plan at the same time?

Question 3. Where do I activate the SIM cards (online / store)?

Question 4. Should I open an ATT online account to buy prepaid plans? Is this done before or after activating SIM?

Question 5. What about the APN settings etc to get the data working on Nexus. Or, will happen automatically when I pop the SIM in to the phone?

Question 6. I want to port my numbers from verizon. At which step I do this?

Sorry about the questions, I hope someone can provide me a direction. I appreciate the time and help. Thanks.

Master

• 

10.2K Messages

11 years ago

@avp387 wrote:

Hello, I am sorry if this has already been answered. I am new to the prepaid world and getting ready switch from verizon to ATT by next month when my contract ends.