Need help connecting your router?
mpw101's profile

Scholar

• 

175 Messages

Friday, May 10th, 2013 11:07 PM

dns client event id 1014

I posted this to a forum but got no answer.  I tried U-verse Internet, Features and How To.

I guess I asked the question in the wrong place.  I am very new to this and am learning.  So here is the question, hope this is the right place.

I am using IE10 on Windows 7 64bit sp1.  I have an AT&T 2wire modem installed by AT&T tech.  I am not using the wireless router in the modem which the tech turned off when installed.  I am using my own wireless router, a Cisco Linksys E1200 (802.11n) which is compatable with my computer's network adapter, also 802.11n.  Also there were other things I liked about it, including a separate password for guest access.  The tech actually suggested I keep using my own wireless router.

Anyway every time my computer wakes from sleep this warning event occurs:

Log Name:      System

Source:        Microsoft-Windows-DNS-Client

Date:          5/5/2013 1:14:52 PM

Event ID:      1014

Task Category: None

Level:         Warning

Keywords:     

User:          NETWORK SERVICE

Computer:      PC-1

Description:

Name resolution for the name wpad.gateway.2wire.net timed out after none of the configured DNS servers responded.

Event Xml:

http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">

0x4000000000000000

System

PC-1

wpad.gateway.2wire.net

02000035C0A801FE0000000000000000

The warning does not happen when I turn the computer on; only when it wakes from sleep.  Does anyone know what this is and how to resolve it?

Accepted Solution

Master

• 

5.9K Messages

11 years ago

@mpw101 wrote:

So it is connecting correctly; "the Gateway and DHCP Server addresses belong to the Linksys router (as it should)...."

The computer's wireless adapter has to contact the Lynksys wireless router first.  The Linksys router is plugged into the 2wire modem from AT&T.