Need help connecting your router?
Hibachi01's profile

Tutor

• 

9 Messages

Wednesday, June 25th, 2014 3:55 AM

Need Information About Upgrading

Hello,

First off I would like to that I am new to AT&T as of last week and so far I haven't had the best experience starting out.

It started with a sales rep pitching the services at my house and telling me how good AT&T internet is with their fiber optic dedicated line that would be going to my house. At no point was it mentioned that the cable was IPTV and would use the same bandwidth my internet was on.

I previously had 12mb/s from WoW! and decided to go with the 18mb/s package with uverse thinking it would be more than enough to satisfy my needs. I got the rude awakening the day of the install after running a few speed tests and seeing my internet speeds go anywhere from 6mb/s - 20 mb/s depending on how many HD streams I had going.

Sorry for the rant, but basically I am looking to move to a higher internet package like the 24mb/s package. After reading a few posts from these forums I am worried that I may not even be able to get that kind of service at my house.

I have the NVG589 modem and VEN201 WAP. I tried running the UVrealtime, but from what I understand it is not compatible with the 589 yet?

Here is the SS of the Broadband statistics

att.png

I am hoping someone has good news for me because this entire process has been frustrating and stressful

1 Attachment

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Former Employee

• 

22.1K Messages

10 years ago

Sorry about the confusion...
based on distance and max sync available your on the 25M profile where best possible internet speed is Max Plus 18M.

With Uverse all bandwidth is shared with preference given to IPTV service in bandwidth allocation.
Each HD stream uses about 6M of bandwidth.
no HD... 25 minus 0 equals 25... have you18M i ternet
1 HD is 25 minus 6 yields 19.. close to 18M internet
2HD is 25 minus 12 yields 13 have 10.5 to 12 internet