Need help with your equipment?
ianbondsmith's profile

Tutor

• 

7 Messages

Wednesday, March 23rd, 2011 12:28 AM

Can't Remote Desktop after switching to Uverse with static IPs

While technically savvy, I am not an IT professional, and my knowledge of networking is limited to what I have learned during the last 3 weeks of frustrating phone calls with ATT Uverse support and our office's IT consultants, neither of which can solve the problem but rather seem satisfied with pointing the finger at each other.  If anyone can help I would be very thankful.

I have a Sonicwall router/firewall running behind my RG.  There is a switch attached to the Sonicwall which contains our office's 5 desktops, a wireless access point, 2 servers and 2 network printers.  I have put the Sonicwall in DMZ mode in the RG's UI and am currently able to connect to the internet from all 5 computers as well as through the wireless.  The Sonicwall is being passed one of our static IPs from the block of 5 useable addresses provided by ATT.  What we are not able to do is to log into the server remotely using Remote Desktop or log into our mail server using the web interface (mail.domainname/exchange).

ATT claims that once the router is placed in DMZ mode, no NATing or blocking of any kind is happening and the problem is with the Sonicwall's configuration (which they won't support even though I am paying them for their Connect Tech service which I was told would resolve the issue).  Our IT consultants claim that everything on the router is configured correctly and that it is ATT's problem.  Since I don't really understand what the router configuration should be, I have no way of knowing how to check if things are properly set up.  The one hint that ATT gave is to make sure the router is set up in DHCP.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Expert

• 

9.4K Messages

13 years ago