BeanyMan's profile

Tutor

• 

8 Messages

Wednesday, June 4th, 2014 5:51 PM

New Home, new AT&T customer, and need advice on internet/TV setup

Hi - My education is lacking in the networking equipment and networking knowledge realm. In addition, I'm also new to Uverse. The past 2 days I've been feverishly reading the internet on the best way to setup a router behind the 2WIRE wireless RG. However, I'm not confident I understand which solution is the best for me or how to connect it up. I've attached a PDF of my current equipment and potential layout.

As an overview:

Downstairs Family Room: 2WIRE RG, non-DVR STB, and a TV.

Upstairs Bedroom Closet: Th hub (where I believe the fiber is terminated) with all of the ethernet cables.

Upstairs Media Room: DVR, Tv, Xbox one

Downstairs Study: PC

Wireless: 2 laptops and 2 tablets.

Almost all of the rooms in my house I had ethernet cables installed, but I don't intend to hook them all up. Before I started reading about the AT&T equipment I purchased a Netgear GS105 Prosafe 5 port switch.

What I'm after is performance - both for TV and Internet. I'm not sure if I need to do the VLAN (i.e. return my GS105 and get one or two of the GS108T models) or if I can physically separate the TV and internet paths using two GS105's. I feel I'm going to need to do the VLAN. I prefer to have my TV's connected via wired ethernet, but does this mean I need a switch in each room?

Hhopefully I can get some feedback on the RG and switch placement. I appreciate any help.

sketch.jpg

sketch2.jpg

2 Attachments

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

ACE - Expert

• 

35K Messages

10 years ago

The GS105's are fine.