Israelmer's profile

Tutor

• 

4 Messages

Wednesday, April 12th, 2017 10:06 PM

Closed

How to disable dhcp on uverse routers

Hi, i need to set up a windows server 2012 and must run dhcp services however my att router does not have the option to disable dhcp. What can i do? Anyone can help me please?

Professor

• 

2.2K Messages

7 years ago

@Israelmer

Assuming you have devices on your home network that connect to your server, how will those devices also connect to the internet?

Realize that you can may your server a static IP address and the U-verse router will honor that.

Tutor

• 

4 Messages

7 years ago

Thanks for responding to my post. The devices will get ip addresses active directory on the windows 2012 server for some reason the server must be setup as the dhcp server on the network. I have no experience i am learning snd probably there is another way to do it but i dont know how to do it. The main situation here is that my modem does not have an option to turn off dhcp. Thank you for taking your timr to respond to my post.

ACE - Expert

• 

35K Messages

7 years ago

You cannot turn off the DHCP protocol on the AT&T Gateway.  If you want your Windows Server to do DHCP for you, your best bet is likely to install your own third-party router behind the AT&T Gateway and isolate your network behind that.  Other than to prepare for Windows Certification, I wonder why anyone would want to set up DHCP on Windows instead of letting a router do it.

Tutor

• 

4 Messages

7 years ago

I have a sonicwall that i can use for that purpose. But i dont know how, if any tutorial that you will recommend on youtube or somewhere else?

Professor

• 

2.2K Messages

7 years ago

@Israelmer wrote: