For the mom who gives us everything - Mother's Day gifts that connects us.
Protect yourself online
dowden1's profile

Tutor

• 

6 Messages

Tuesday, January 13th, 2015 4:09 AM

Slow DSL speeds

Well here is the deal currently I am on the 3mbps plan which I believe is the pro. I am currently on wifi standing next to the router only getting .37mbps. Now I'm no rocket scientist but something doesn't seem right here. Anyone else having this kind of issue?

Mentor

• 

72 Messages

7 years ago

I don’t know when I posted this about speed, but since I upgraded to fiber optic, my speed seems to stay fairly stable. I have had occasions over the last few days when my speed would drop to unacceptable levels, but within a couple of hours it was back to where it should be. Irritating? Yes. If it continues to do this I will contact AT&T. for what I’m paying there should not be any slow speed.

Contributor

• 

1 Message

7 years ago

Well...coming from a 6.0 Mbps DSL customer (for YEARS) & after coming across the following article/same information I overheard months ago on CBS Evening News...

DSL Users Still Can't Get Advertised Speeds They Pay For, Nation's Telcos Couldn't Care Less

www.techdirt.com/articles/20151230/06361833196/dsl-users-still-cant-get-advertised-speeds-they-pay-nations-telcos-couldnt-care-less.shtml

...there's really no hope in getting the speeds we actually paid for! PERIOD. There are only 2 options to boost speeds:

Either sign up for ATT's 24 mb/sec 2-yr (initial price) agreement (OR) Make the switch to Xfinity/Comcast.

Mentor

• 

72 Messages

7 years ago