For the mom who gives us everything - Mother's Day gifts that connects us.
Dforester's profile

Contributor

• 

3 Messages

Saturday, April 22nd, 2017 9:55 PM

Outage for over 24 hours

I'm fairly new to ATT. In my new home, it's the only service that is available. Otherwise I would have stayed with Xfinity. There has been an outage in my area for over 24 hours. I've never seen an ISP take more than a few hours to get Internet back up and running. Is this a common occurrence with ATT?

Expert

• 

15K Messages

7 years ago

Outages happen.  But in my area I've never had a 24-hour outage.  I would suggest you call ATT CS to verify they are aware of the outage and if they are have an estimate for completion.  It could be they aren't aware of any outage in your area and if so ask them to test your line (they can do it remotely).  They will also reboot your gateway.

Speaking of the gateway (your "modem").  Is the power light green?  Are the broadband(s) lights on?  Try rebooting your gateway (pull plug for about 15 second).

Contributor

• 

1 Message

7 years ago

Hey DForrester, do you happen to be in sunnyvale, ca? This is absolutely preposterous. No updates, customer service is useless. I had Time Warner/Spectrum the last 5 years and say what you want about them, but I never EVER had my internet down for over 2 hours. Crazy thing is I have Fiber as well- there should be no loss and less maintenance. Insane. Going to drop them for Xfinity if I can. Would rather have slower and steady than fast and none at all.

Expert

• 

15K Messages

7 years ago