Explore & discover

Helpful Links

Equipment questions for residential AT&T Fiber

Contributor

Equipment questions for residential AT&T Fiber

I'm moving to an apartment soon that has Gigabit AT&T Fiber available (not U-Verse). When I viewed the apartment, I actually got to go see the fiber that was ran into the building (standard outdoor LC fiber waiting to be plugged into a large box in the basement). This is also in the Milwaukee, WI area.

My move isn't for another two months, but I'm just trying to get my equipment squared away (I try to avoid renting equipment if I can). I work in enterprise networking but this is my first time interacting with fiber in residential so I'd like to know how it's typically installed for apartments and if I can use all of my own equipment and whether it’s usually converted up to the unit or before? If it is into the unit as fiber, is it able to be plugged into a normal SFP or does it need a sort of AT&T device in the middle?

In the basement the fiber goes into a large box but I was unable to see how it was distributed from there, i.e. if it’s converted to copper from there. Below is a picture of the handoff point in the unit, which, at the time, I didn’t think to look more closely at but of it helps anyone make out the situation that’s it (this is cropped from a larger image that just happened to have it in it).

IMG_0146.jpg

Thanks for any help!

Message 1 of 5
Employee

Re: Equipment questions for residential AT&T Fiber

Fiber to the unit... ONT installed, ethernet to ATT gateway.

The gateway has 4 ethernet giga ports besides being a dual band wireless network.

Your equipment will sit behind the gateway, depending on model will be either DMZ+ or IP Pass through to connect your equipment in the closest thing of a bridge.