What is happening with 3G?
TimVi's profile

Contributor

• 

2 Messages

Wednesday, February 13th, 2013 1:41 PM

Microcell only gets power light

Help!

On installation, my Microcell only gets power light on.  AT&T Microcell support has tried to resolve this issue to no avail and sent me 2 more Microcell towers and still only get the power light.  

In Texas with Comcast, my old router, and my 1st Microcell, I had no issues.  We just moved to Deland, FL, Comcast not available so using Brighthouse cable, my old router and my 1st Microcell, only got the power light on the Microcell.  Now with AT&T support, 2 more Microcell towers and a new router, I still only get the power light.

I'll call AT&T again, but doubt they will help.  I've asked for a tech support person to come to my residence, but they say they don't offer that.  

Can anyone here help?  I'm not good with computers, so need very basic instructions.

ACE - Expert

• 

23.9K Messages

11 years ago

First of all, anything bought off of eBay can be suspect. There's a reason why it's being sold. That being said, if only the Power light comes on, and stays on, it's possible that it's the adapter but one would think that if there is enough power for the light to go on, then there's enough power to run the rest of it. Does the adapter feel hot to the touch? That's a relative judgement I know but it should just be warm to the touch. Kind of like when you are recharging something. Try plugging it into another outlet from a different circuit to rule out any sort of power variability.

The MicroCell can not be repaired so if you have a lemon, or bought a defective one, there's not much you can do. As far as others having the same issue with brand new MicroCells (not refurbs) I haven't seen that many reports.

Professor

• 

2.2K Messages

11 years ago