For the mom who gives us everything - Mother's Day gifts that connects us.
What is happening with 3G?
guitargain's profile

Scholar

• 

187 Messages

Sunday, August 16th, 2015 1:18 PM

Microcell and repeater

I have been using a microcell for several years now and have been through all the various problems and solved some myself and some with a little help on this forum.

I and my wife both have Iphone 6 Plus phones.  I upgraded my phone to the iOS 9 Public Beta 3 yesterday and activated wifi calling and it works great.  I am going to upgrade my wifes today, and we will both be using wifi calling now.  I also have my father on my plan and he has an Iphone 4s and he lives across the street from me about 300 feet away.  He will still need to use the microcell to have service.

I also have an outdoor wireless network that broadcasts wifi over my 5 acres and reaches very well to his house as well.  I set this up using a point to point network with Ubiquiti Nanostations.  I have an indoor router that the microcell is currently connected to.  I have a switch that the Ubiquiti is connected to. 

My question is this:  I have a spare router or two and am thinking of using one to repeat the outdoor network at my Dads place and then try to use that router to plug the microcell into and see if it will work.  The reason for this is with the MC inside my house it will work at my Dads but he usually has to walk outside to pick it up.  If i could get it to work the way I am thinking then he would have better service inside his house.

What do you think?

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Scholar

• 

187 Messages

9 years ago