Intermittent connections: PROOF that it's not EMI, a subwoofer, neighbor's phone, bad wiring, etc.

Tutor

Intermittent connections: PROOF that it's not EMI, a subwoofer, neighbor's phone, bad wiring, etc.

Sorry Penny, Pamela, etc. 

I do this for a living.  I find software bugs.  And I get paid good money to narrow down the specific causes.  

I too, have suffered with intermittent disconnection problems ever since I received my 2701HG-B Gateway about 4 months ago. I've tried all the different "troubleshooting tips" from this forum, the AT&T site, and from a rather long tech support call - none of which helped. 

I'm a busy person, and troubleshooting AT&T's problem wasn't a top priority for me - although it was extremely annoying each time our internet connection was disconnected, I have other things to do.  Two days ago, I had surgery on my ankle, and I have to sit, with it elevated, for a week.  With two MacBook Pro computers, and three OS versions (10.6.1-10.6.3) I began digging. 

First of all, I found a quite informative link from the 2Wire site. Instead of just typing http://home in my browser, I found that I could get even more info from using http://gateway.2wire.net/management and entering the same administrator password for the http://home page. 

Under the 'Broadband Link' section, I found some rather interesting info when I clicked the 'Detailed Statistics' link: 

DSL Since Reset:  Current 24 hr Time since last event

Link Retrains: 12 12 0 1:51:18
DSL Training Errors: 7 7 0 3:34:4

I'm not sure what Link Retrains are, exactly, but feel free to Google away.   I know they are errors, and I know they corresponded roughly to the outages I've been experiencing. 

Further down, under the 'Advanced' section, I thought I'd take a look at the Detailed Log link.  BAM.  Lost my connection to the internet.  Waited.  Got reconnected.  Came back to the same page, and tried the Detailed Log link again.  BAM.

And again. BAM.

And again. BAM.