CA Internet Problems?

Contributor

CA Internet Problems?

I am a California resident and AT&T customer (for years now when it was SBCglobal through yahoo) ANYHOW... I have never had internet problems until this week. I am experiencing a very slow internet connection. I just tried to use the customer care service and a very rude rep took my number down "in case our phone call was dropped" then connected to my computer through some type of new remote system (I could see his mouse moving on my desktop). 

Anyhow, he wasted my time having me reset my computer after I had told him I had already done so several times, restarting the modem (I had also done this several times), unplugging the filters, checking the phone lines etc. Anyhow he was on my computer and the phone dropped and I opened notepad and wrote "please call me back our connection was lost"... then he wrote back "plz call back" which was a huge waste of time. 

So I call back and I get another rep who seems much nicer, I tell her about the situation and she seems to know what she is doing, however, she immediately tells me that there is an outage in ALL OF CALIFORNIA. Which was a little hard to swallow. She said that this outage is massive and has never occurred for this long of a duration (usually only lasting for 4 hours) but she said it has been since the 26th of June. 

I asked her if this is the reason why my internet has been slow and she said that she was 100% sure that this was the cause of the problem. 

I still find this hard to swallow? There is a huge outage that has lasted for more than a week in California and AT&T hasn't sent out a letter to their customers warning them? Furthermore even customer service doesn't have an estimated time of repair? 

Can anyone let me know if there is any truth to this? This sounds like reason enough to switch to another more reliable ISP (who happens to offer 12 Mbps at the same cost)...