Our Community Forums will be closing on June 27, 2024. Please visit att.com/support for all your support needs.
Need help understanding your bill?
jdsutherland21's profile

2 Messages

Thursday, October 5th, 2023 6:15 AM

Unfair billing

My account was never authorized to call internationally. However, as a victim of domestic violence, my young teen was convinced to make over $1800 worth of calls internationally by her father. I called AT&T.  I explained my plight. I asked for the service to be terminated so I can afford to pay this bill. I'm a teacher struggling to pay rent ,take dare of my child etc. After calling 4 times asking why the bill continues to increase,  I can't an answer. Between. June 2023 to October 5 2023 ,my bil is almost $2600. AT&T  I think that is cruel and unfair. I've asked for help to pay.  But instead of me paying the 1800. You continue to bill me for service I no longer use. 

ACE - Expert

• 

32.5K Messages

9 months ago

Ouch, that is quite the situation. I hope you and your daughter are out of that bad environment.

Like any phone company, the account owner is responsible for the charges of all calls made. You might need to seek other avenues to have the father held accountable for coercing her to make those calls.

Cancellation occurs at the end of the cycle, not mid-month. If bill is continuing to increase because of international charges, either calls are still being made while it is active or calls already made were delayed being billed to the account. I would call and see about an option to suspend the line as lost/stolen if international calls aren't able to be blocked.