Our Community Forum will be shutting down on June 27, 2024. Please visit att.com/support for all your support needs.
Need help understanding your bill?
KerryLudwig's profile

Tutor

• 

5 Messages

Thursday, September 26th, 2019 7:27 PM

Mislead by saleswoman

We recently purchased 2 Samsung Note 10+ on the BOGO offer.  During the whole sales spiel, we were told that as part of the offer, we would have to upgrade to an unlimited data plan.  We don't need that it since we never use all the data on our old plan.  But since it was required for the deal and it was only getting to be a little more per month than what we were paying before, we agreed.  What the saleswoman failed to tell us is that we would lose our hot-spot capability.   I have a 9 yr old autistic son.  When we are traveling and he gets upset, we turn on the hot-spot so he can play his games on his iPad.  I am an amateur radio operator and a founding member of a group dedicated to training for Emergency Communications.  We work with the local hospital network, fire dept and sheriff's office.  I use the hot-spot in my truck for relaying position reporting data.  Both of these uses are very limited.  I'm sure well below 1GB/month.  So now I'm not only paying more for extra data I don't need, I have lost a basic functionality that I do need.  When I went back and confronted the saleswoman, she said "Oh..  did I not mention that?  I guess I dropped the ball on that one."   But she graciously offered to to add it back but it would require another upgrade and another additional charge.  I walked out.   I feel that I was mislead.  I should have been told about this upfront.  I shouldn't have to pay even more just to get back to the level of service that I had before.  I have been an AT&T customer for 2 decades.  I currently have 4 lines on my plan.  I hate to think of how many thousands of dollars I have spent over the year.  Do I have any recourse??? 

ACE - Sage

• 

118.3K Messages

5 years ago