Turning DVR on/off via web site
I'm a U-verse TV and Internet customer currently subscribing to the U200 TV package. If I downgrade to U-basic, I have the option to turn the existing DVR off via the website (to save on the $15 equipment fee).
Does this simply disable the DVR's recording functionality, effectively turning it into a plain wired receiver, or does this require a physical exchange for another device?
My most important question is this: If the DVR receiver stays in place (but is prevented from making further recordings), can existing recordings still be played back or will they be lost/inaccessible?