bsn321's profile

Contributor

• 

2 Messages

Friday, November 7th, 2008 5:30 PM

Closed

Installing an AT&T theme on Blackberry Pearl 8100

Hi folks -

relative newbie here.   My wife has AT&T wireless (phone) service.    We received a "second-hand" BB Pearl 8100.   The phone came directly from RIM, but was designed for T-mobile.  It was never locked for T-mobile, however.  In short, the phone works just fine with my wife's Cingular/AT&T SIM card.

Originally, I wasn't sure if the phone would work, or work properly, if it did not have an AT&T OS loaded, so I did download and load the AT&T OS for a BB Pearl 8100.

However - I have [at least!] 2 questions:

1)  I'm still getting a "T-mobile" boot screen.  I wonder if this is somehow burned into some type of ROM of the BB itself?  However - as I said, the phone is working so really this question is more of a curiosity at this point.  My REAL question is:

2)  I don't have the AT&T Theme loaded.   After loading the AT&T OS, the phone still has the T-mobile theme, plus the "Dimension" theme(s), and also the "Phantom" and "Sunday Funnies" themes (the latter 2 I think may have come along with the AT&T OS (?).

I would have thought the AT&T theme would be embedded into the AT&T OS load - but apparently not.

What am I missing?  How can I install the AT&T THEME on this Pearl???

Thanks so much!

bsn321

Accepted Solution

Professor

• 

2.1K Messages

15 years ago

It doesn't matter what carrier you download the OS from, all carrier themes are included. Since you're phone was built for T-Mobile, it has a T-Mobile device ID. As far as I know, there is no way to change either the device ID or the boot screen, but you can get the AT&T theme loaded by making a minor edit to one file.