For the mom who gives us everything - Mother's Day gifts that connects us.
Check for service outages
Caretaker1379's profile

Mentor

• 

30 Messages

Wednesday, June 11th, 2014 7:23 PM

what is the future of the cell phone signals and towers?

Hi.  i was at a park with a lot of trees, plus the park was a valley and i looked at my phone and it said "no service".  i was able to get to an open road and i got 2 dot signals so it was no big deal.

the reason i'm here:  i just have a question of: what is future of phone signals? will cell towers slowly disappear and be replaced with technology  where no matter where you are your phone just works? i know there are satellite phones but will that technology eventually trickle down to the customer?

i know companies can't tell us the future but if u can inbox me, thanks.

Teacher

• 

26 Messages

10 years ago

Hello Cartaker1379,

That is a great question and me being a physicist I can tell you that it will probably lead to Quantum Entanglement Communication. But this will take a long time still and most Scientist are still trying to understand this phenomenon where by a particle is effected directly in a quantum state without any known interaction. All wireless communication use a particle called a Photon and this particle is traveling across space, to which the wave is effected by trees and other particles. The is called Attenuation and at&t Engineers use the Attenuation coefficient formula to figure out how well a signal is effect by air, water, ect... Which in result would either make them raise the output power of a transmitter. This effects the signal that you are experience when around trees. That is the short fall of wave particle communication. However, the theory with QEC is that you could communicate directly with out the short falls of waves and interactions of other particles.