Skip to main content
AT&T Community Forums
F

• 

2 Messages

Fri, Jun 5, 2020 3:07 PM

AT&T Fraud Department CANNOT BE CONTACTED

Two DirectTV accounts were fraudulent established using my information, one of which was flagged as fraud and closed by AT&T within a month or two of it being opened. Nevertheless, AT&T sent the accounts to collection agents as a bad debt in my name and this has significantly impacted my credit score. I have spent HOURS trying to contact the AT&T Fraud Department (the DirectTV Fraud Department is very responsive but cannot help me because the accounts were recently established on AT&T's systems). For AT&T to submit known fraudulent accounts for collection in my name is unacceptable, and then for its Fraud Department not to be available to actually address the issue makes matters so much worse. As an attorney, I will look into the matter further to determine what other recourse is available, but I am using this forum to let others know of the difficulty of ever reaching the Fraud Department.

Responses

Juniper

ACE - Expert

• 

21K Messages

a month ago

All AT&T/DirecTV departments are impacted by Covid-19. They had to close many call centers and put additional employees on extended leave. So they are very short staffed.

In addition to calling, I would try www.directv.com/notmyaccount so that all bases are covered. To my understanding unlike the rest of customer support, their fraud/identity theft team works on more traditional business hours. Good luck.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(Included after every post)
I am a customer, not an employee. This is a public forum.
For official support call DirecTV 1-800-531-5000 or AT&T 1-800-288-2020.
www.directv.com or www.att.com
Award for Community Excellence 2019 Achiever*