Announcements

For the latest on our response to Coronavirus (COVID-19), click here.

Contributor

 • 

1 Message

Mon, Jun 18, 2018 3:27 PM

Annoying AT&T Message and Sync Backup window opens everytime I access my texts.

I have a prepaid mobile.  How do I get this annoying message to go away?  It just started doing this about two weeks ago and I have had my phone for almost a year.  Everytime I click on my text messages, I'm asked if I want to enable the message sync.  However, since it is prepaid, I can't enable the app...so, the app ad NEVER goes away!  HELP!  This makes me want to throw the phone in the lake!

Responses

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Brand User
ATTHelp

Administrator

 • 

112.6K Messages

2 years ago

Hello @Shari_Moore,


Welcome to the Community Forums! I can understand how this has become a concern for you, and would be more than happy to assist.


From your default text messaging app, go to your settings and you should see the feature. Turn it off and restart the device. If this doesn’t work let me know and we’ll look into other options.


If you have more questions, please let us know!


Jax, AT&T Community Specialist

Still need help? Ask a question! Our 1.4 million members typically respond within 1 hour.

*I am an AT&T employee, and the postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent AT&T's position, strategies or opinions.

Contributor

 • 

1 Message

a year ago

My LG Phoenix 3 doesn't have option to turn backup and sync notice off, and "not now" only cleared the notice till next time  app is opened. I called AT&T technical support, but was told it is part of the installed app.  Regardless, I think I found a way.  Hopefully, it doesn't make my phone explode, but for $39 @ Walmart, am going to take the chance!  A bit of trouble when I could just get Android Messages or FB Messenger/Whatsapp, but this app really makes it easy to schedule messages and share/send/attach mp3's.

>> go into SETTINGS

   >> go to "General" tab

      >> choose MEMORY

       >> choose "Memory used by apps"

         >> choose "Messages Backup & Sync" app (NOT the "Messaging" app itself)

           >>once on the app usage page, click on the app/icon to get more app info

              >> once on the "App Info" screen, choose disable.

  >>Dont forget to restart phone so changes take effect.

Good luck!

 

AT&T TV – All Your Entertainment In One Spot.  Learn more…