Find the perfect gift for the grad in your life with Graduation gifts that connects us from AT&T.
Need to update email settings?
nannorm's profile

Contributor

 • 

2 Messages

Wednesday, April 24th, 2024 6:58 PM

sbcglobal.net email address

Can I still use my sbcglobal.net email address and account if I no longer have an AT&T acccount?

Community Support

 • 

232.3K Messages

1 month ago

Hi @nannorm! Thank you for reaching out to us! We understand the importance of an email account. We hear you, and are happy to assist you.

 

To answers your question in short, yes you can use your sbcglobal email account.

 

What to know.

 

If you cancel your AT&T Internet account, you will still have access to your account as long as your account is in good standing. If there is a balance owed on the AT&T internet account, you will lose access to the email until it is resolved. To verify your canceled AT&T Internet account is in good standing, chat with us. If you break terms and conditions, the email will be deactivated.

 

Helpful Tips:

  • Security Questions - when you cancel your services, you no longer have the ability to reset your email at att.com. It is highly recommended you set up security questions before you cancel - it makes it easier to reset passwords if you forget it!
  • Merged Email Addresses - If your Yahoo email is tied to your att.net email, you do have the option to unmerge it. The att.net email is deleted when you unmerge the account. You must process the request within 30 days of cancellation.
  • Tie your email to your mobile account - this will help with password resets in the future.

To Unmerge the account, follow the steps below. 

 

  1. Go to myAT&T, and log in with your AT&T Member ID and password.
  2. Select Profile > Update My Profile.
  3. Under AT&T Email Accounts, select Account Profile.
  4. Next to Member ID, select Delete Account.
  5. Select OK to confirm.
  6. Confirm that the Status at the bottom of the User Information section now reads Disabled. Your email account has been deleted.
  7. To continue using your Yahoo email, sign in to Yahoo mail. Select the Unmerge button in the bottom right corner of the page.

 Let us know how it goes!

For further assistance we're here to help.

 

Thank you for contacting AT&T Community Forums!

Nate, AT&T Community Specialist.

Not finding what you're looking for?
New to AT&T Community?
New to the AT&T Community? Start by visiting the Community How-To.
New to the AT&T Community?
Visit the Community How-To.