Pre-order the New Samsung Galaxy Z Flip4 & Galaxy Z Fold4 and, for a limited time, get twice the storage and a free case!
Need help connecting your router?
jp4lsu's profile

Tutor

• 

6 Messages

Wed, Nov 28, 2018 9:32 PM

Uverse data line (dsl) connection to Modem

Hey ya'll....noob here.  Figured I'd ask here before I start cutting.Smiley Surprised

I have Uverse installed with an Arris NVG599 modem/router.  I'm cleaning up and organizing my structured media enclosure and the ATT work needs to be cleaned up on the phone side and dsl (broadband) side.

Broadband Connection:

-Cat5e is connected to ATT box outside ( I haven't looked at this outside connection yet)

-This Cat5 cable comes into the enclosure and the Green/Green White pair are spliced with Blue/Blue White pair from another Cat5.  So then Green/Blue and Green White/Blue White are paired together.

-All is good until....this spliced Cat5 then terminates into some potting on the back of a wall plate.  From the potting wires come out and go into 2x jacks on the wall plate.  1 jack is marked broadband.  From the Broadband jack, a green cable goes to the (DSL/Broadband) RJ11 jack on the back of the modem/router.

I want to get rid of this wall plate, that is between the Uverse data line coming from outside and the Modem.

Question:

-After the splice can I get rid of the Wall plate with the potting and take the Blue/Blue White lines and put them into a keystone.  Then I can plug my green broadband cable from the modem directly into the keystone?

This would get rid of this dumb wall plate that was rigged up and is just hanging in the enclosure.

If I snip the blue/blue white wires after the splice, do I need to disconnect anything outside at the Uverse box?

Don't want to short anything out on the ATT side especially.

Thanks for the help.  I can't post any pics right now.

-JP

spoom2

ACE - Master

• 

16.1K Messages

4年前

. The cable comes into what enclosure?