Our Community Forum will be shutting down on June 27, 2024. Please visit att.com/support for all your support needs.
M

New Member

 • 

1 Message

Wednesday, October 7th, 2020 6:30 PM

Replaced modem; old network name shows up instead of new modem name

I just got a new modem today and while the technician was here, I could see the new network name show up and I connected with the new password. I had internet access at this time too.

 

Shortly after that, I lost connection to modem and now my old network name (from previous modem) shows up and I can log in to the old network name with the old password. Internet works this way for now.

 

To be clear, my old modem is no longer plugged in. 

I have tried resetting the modem and unplugging, etc. 

Community Support

 • 

232.8K Messages

4 years ago

Hello @mwem,

 

Lets get your modem information corrected

 

Our modem is capable of recovering the old modems information which is why you would see it now.

 

However if you wish to change the information at any time you can follow these steps to do so.

  1. Sign in to Smart Home Manager.
  2. Select My Wi-Fi.
  3. Choose Edit next to the name or password you want to change.
  4. Select X to clear the existing info, then enter a new name or password.
  5. Select Save.
  6. Reconnect your devices with your updated network info.

We hope this helps @mwem, please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

 

KaneB, AT&T Community Specialist

New Member

 • 

4 Messages

2 years ago

I just installed my new modem which has a different Wi-Fi name and password than my old one; however, when I look up my wifi information on the Smart Home app, it shows the old user name and password as the main wifi and the new modem user name and password as the guest wi-fi.  Is the old user name and password what I still use and I can use the new one for guests?

ACE - Expert

 • 

35.8K Messages

2 years ago

The Smart Home Manager obtains your Wi-Fi information from your Gateway.  When you change out your Gateway, the Smart Home Manager is supposed to push the information back to the new Gateway so that you don't have to reprogram everything.  Many users have experienced issues with esoteric features after getting their new Gateway and needing to Factory Reset it... the Smart Home Manager doesn't appear to try to restore the information after a factory reset.

Not finding what you're looking for?
New to AT&T Community?
New to the AT&T Community? Start by visiting the Community How-To.
New to the AT&T Community?
Visit the Community How-To.