Announcements
HBO Max - where HBO meets so much more!

Tutor

 • 

8 Messages

Wed, Apr 25, 2018 5:53 AM

Photos deleted

All my photos are deleted. My iCloud photos library was saved in backups. Then deleted it from photo album from my old phone so I can return it by mail. It’s was set up on my new phone & the photos were there. Now the photos are gone on my new phone. What happened?  Why was it deleted on new phone?

Responses

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

sandblaster

ACE - Expert

 • 

38.1K Messages

2 years ago

Except that has nothing to do with the mobile transfer app. As I noted above, that is the way the iCloud Photo Library works. You didn’t even need to use the transfer app to move your photos. All you needed to do was sign into your iCloud account on the 6 and turn the iCloud Photo Library setting on. It would have automatically downloaded all your photos from iCloud.

Award for Community Excellence 2019 Achiever*
*I am not an AT&T employee, and the views and opinions expressed on this forum are purely my own. Any product claim, statistic, quote, or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer, provider, or party.

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

MR_SMiT

ACE - Professor

 • 

1.7K Messages

2 years ago

@Maverick77: For iTunes, you have to download it to your personal computer: https://www.apple.com/itunes/. As for iCloud, here is some info: https://www.apple.com/icloud/

Hardcore Pittsburgh Steelers Fan
Award for Community Excellence 2019 Achiever*
*I am not an AT&T employee, and the views and opinions expressed on this forum are purely my own. Any product claim, statistic, quote, or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer, provider, or party.
Anonymous

New Member

 • 

25.7K Messages

2 years ago

Did you reset the phone or delete the photos? I believe if you just delete them it removes them off all devices logged in as they are synced together 

Tutor

 • 

8 Messages

2 years ago

1st I synced all data from my iPhone 5s to iPhone 6 with the app called AT&T Mobile Transfer. Then I had to contacted ProTech at 1-888-490-6096 to activate my services for iPhone 6. I had to give them my IMEI # & ICCID # to activate the phone. Then iPhone 5s was no longer in service. The photos, text messages & apps were still on both phones after this was done. So in order to return my iPhone 5s in the mail. I deleted all photos, apps, & text messages on the iPhone 5s. After I had done this, I didn’t know it was deleting all the photos & text messages from the iPhone 6 as well. All other apps remain the same. I thought it was saved from syncing using the AT&T Mobile Transfer.

Sent from my iPhone
Anonymous

New Member

 • 

25.7K Messages

2 years ago

@Maverick77 again, did you delete them or reset the phone?

Tutor

 • 

8 Messages

2 years ago

I didn’t reset the phone because I didn’t remember my restriction passcode, so I deleted it only on iPhone 5s.
Anonymous

New Member

 • 

25.7K Messages

2 years ago

It probably removed them as it's synced. If you can't remove restrictions you more than likely will have to pay for the phone as they can't resell it

Tutor

 • 

8 Messages

2 years ago

The AT&T representative told me all I had to do was enter my password 10 times & it’ll lock the phone, since I don’t remember my “restriction passcode”. I haven’t done this yet to have it locked & the rep. didn’t mentioned any charges for not removing the restriction. Btw, the phone I’m returning is damaged.
Anonymous

New Member

 • 

25.7K Messages

2 years ago

Are you doing a next trade in or selling the phone to att? 

Tutor

 • 

8 Messages

2 years ago

None. I have insurance to replace the damaged phones & therefore the mail me an iPhone 6 to replace iPhone 5s since they don’t make iPhone 5s anymore.
Anonymous

New Member

 • 

25.7K Messages

2 years ago

Ahh, my apologies. My assemptions were wrong. You won't be charged. That's the one situation it's ok

Tutor

 • 

8 Messages

2 years ago

Sooo, when I used the AT&T Mobile Transfer app to transfer from iPhone 5s to iPhone 6 as instructed: all photos were on both phones. Then I only deleted the photos on iPhone 5s not on iPhone 6. After reviewing my iPhone 6 photos later that when I noticed it deleted my photos on iPhone 6 as well. Why did it not save on iPhone 6? When I only deleted the photos on iPhone 5s.



Sent from my iPhone
sandblaster

ACE - Expert

 • 

38.1K Messages

2 years ago

That is the way the iCloud Photo Library works. Any change you make on one device is replicated on all devices so when you deleted pictures on the 5s, you deleted them from the iCloud library and from the iPhone 6. You needed to either sign out of your iCloud account or turn iCloud library off on the 5s before deleting photos. 

Award for Community Excellence 2019 Achiever*
*I am not an AT&T employee, and the views and opinions expressed on this forum are purely my own. Any product claim, statistic, quote, or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer, provider, or party.

Tutor

 • 

8 Messages

2 years ago

Oh now you tell me. I wished it was stated with the AT&T Mobile Transfer instructions before I did this. So sad. Now all photos are lost. Well, thanks for the big help. Wish I knew this beforehand.


Sent from my iPhone
MR_SMiT

ACE - Professor

 • 

1.7K Messages

2 years ago

@Maverick77: The AT&T Mobile Transfer app is useless with iPhones. Somehow it will not work right with iOS products. You have to use iCloud, or iTunes.

Hardcore Pittsburgh Steelers Fan
Award for Community Excellence 2019 Achiever*
*I am not an AT&T employee, and the views and opinions expressed on this forum are purely my own. Any product claim, statistic, quote, or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer, provider, or party.