Find the perfect gift for the grad in your life with Graduation gifts that connects us from AT&T.
The new iPad Pro & iPad Air!
WifiNO5GYES's profile

New Member

 • 

3 Messages

Monday, May 8th, 2023 10:11 AM

Managed networks are locked

I have 5G unlimited plan and do not use wifi as I do not use that much data on my mobile device.  Does anyone know what the unsecured Wi-Fi ssid “attwifi” is?  I understand the what the first ssid is which has the lock icon next to it.  I’ve even had Apple support try show me how to delete the ssid “attwifi” but we are not able to as the delete option isn’t available.   When i go look at the details of the “attwifi” it is a bootp type and set to automatically connect.   Is bootp something like an IT administrator would use if my device belong to an enterprise/corporation?   When I exit out of the settings for the attwifi, screen will display “managed networks are locked” briefly.  Screenshot attached for reference.

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Community Support

 • 

232.2K Messages

1 year ago

Good morning @shaneanthonyshenanigans, we know how important it is to have info on your wi-fi networks, and we're here to help!

@formerlyknownas is correct that the Wi-Fi® name attwifi indicates an an AT&T Wi-Fi Hot Spot location to which your device will connect automatically when your Wi-Fi is turned on. 

Use AT&T Wi-Fi Hot Spots to connect your mobile device or laptop to high-speed internet. You can find them in public places like coffee shops, airports, and restaurants. They’re available nationwide.

Please let us know if this helps so we can assist further if needed!

 

Joseph, AT&T Community Specialist

 

 

ACE - Sage

 • 

117.7K Messages

1 year ago

That is for your device to connect to AT&T public Wi-Fi hotspots. This is not something I would allow my phone to do, I would turn off Wi-Fi.  If you click on the little 'i' in the circle what does it say?

And you always have the option to turn off auto join so that your phone will not automatically connect to available public Wi-Fi networks

New Member

 • 

5 Messages

1 year ago

This is what mine say. I’m having a similar concern. Albeit from Verizon.

New Member

 • 

5 Messages

1 year ago

starting

(edited)

ACE - Sage

 • 

117.7K Messages

1 year ago

@shaneanthonyshenanigans 

Per your last photograph, all three of those networks have a little lock on them because it requires that you sign in in order to join. If you don't sign in, you will not join those networks.   Problem solved

New Member

 • 

5 Messages

1 year ago

Thank you very much for the information. Yes, I am an educated 36 year old American male. I’m quite versed in how and what WiFi is in its most basic function, how it’s connected, how passwords and locked networks are joined. My dilemma is further into the Wi-Fi menu. Once in the main Wi-Fi available networks queue. . . On the top right of the menu shows an “edit” button. Entering that submenu..brings up a managed (and locked) queue of different networks that I’ve never connected to, entered a password for, or am even in proximity of. Please understand and help! 

New Member

 • 

5 Messages

1 year ago

Pending screen recording upload. 

Community Support

 • 

232.2K Messages

1 year ago

Hello @shaneanthonyshenanigansok, you are able to disable the attwifi connections, if your Wi-Fi is turned on, and it automatically connects. 

 

There is not an option to delete attwifi. We can provide information on how to protect yourself when using public Wi-Fi

 

If you have any other concerns, please do feel free to reach out to us. 

 

Holcy AT&T Community Specialist. 

ACE - Sage

 • 

117.7K Messages

1 year ago

@shaneanthonyshenanigans 

Maybe the reason we don't understand is you havent explained the problem?

Are you wanting to connect to those networks?

Or are you NOT wanting to connect to those networks?

If you do not want to connect, congratulations you are not connected. But apparently those networks are nearby and available, if you have the password

If you transfer data from a previous phone, the information on previously connected networks would transfer along with all of your other data.  

(edited)

New Member

 • 

5 Messages

1 year ago

I am wanting to toggle auto join off and forget those networks completely. I am unable to access any of the modifications for those three networks. I just want them gone. 

Not finding what you're looking for?
New to AT&T Community?
New to the AT&T Community? Start by visiting the Community How-To.
New to the AT&T Community?
Visit the Community How-To.