Skip to main content
AT&T Community Forums
Announcements
Don’t miss your chance to add AT&T Protect Advantage. Peace of mind, starting at $15 per month. Open enrollment ends 8/31. See all protection plans.
T

• 

4 Messages

Mon, Jul 13, 2020 2:42 PM

Keeping my phone number active

Hello, I am an international student and I had to leave the US on March 18th due to COVID-19. I will be attending the fall semester online and I will not be in the US till probably January 2021 at the earliest. I turned off my autopay and am wondering what I need to do to keep my number till January? I can't make any phone calls or text with my US number since I'm not in the US. Does processing a payment on my account keep my number alive? If so, how many times do I need to process a payment? Im on the 8 gb data plan which I think is 50 USD per month.

Responses

sandblaster

ACE - Expert

• 

40.5K Messages

a month ago

Sorry but if you turned off autopay in March, your account is closed by now. A prepaid account is automatically closed if the account balance is $0 for more than 60 days. Processing a payment would have kept your account active but it’s too late now. For future reference, what you should have done before leaving was change to a pay per use plan and refill your account with $100. A $100 refill is good for a year. Your account would have stayed open and the $100 would still be there to use when you return next January. You will need to open a new account with a new SIM card and new number. Sorry but your old number is lost, there is no way to request that number back.

(edited)

Award for Community Excellence 2019 Achiever*
*I am not an AT&T employee, and the views and opinions expressed on this forum are purely my own. Any product claim, statistic, quote, or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer, provider, or party.

• 

4 Messages