Available Now: Buy the new iPhone 14, iPhone 14 Pro and iPhone 14 Pro Max from AT&T!
Enjoy 16GB of high-speed data for $25/mo.
CMayo's profile
CMayo
#1 Star!
The 5th element!
10th stratosphere!

New Member

 • 

17 Messages

Mon, Jul 11, 2022 3:34 PM

I downgraded my prepaid plan today, now I have no service and the site is demanding a payment to start my "new service."

I've just changed my prepaid plan from Unlimited MAX to a less expensive one, $30 Monthly Plan. My Unlimited plan renews via auto-pay on the 16th, but I decided to go ahead and renew today. Now my service is off and the website is asking for a $30 payment to start my "new" service, even though I still have five days credit on my more expensive Unlimited plan.

I need to keep my renewal date on the 16th so I don't want to make a payment today. If I wait five days to fund the new $30 plan, will my account and phone number still be intact? Is it possible to revert to my unlmited plan so I can have service in the meantime?

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

sandblaster

ACE - Expert

 • 

59.8K Messages

3分前

When you change your plan, the old plan terminates and you lose any remaining days. You don’t get credit for those last 5 days. The new plan doesn’t start until you pay for it. That is the way prepaid has always worked. You should have waited until the last day of your unlimited plan to change. Yes, you can wait until the 16th to renew your plan but you won’t have service until you pay for your new plan.  No, there is no way to revert back to your old plan since it was terminated. 

(edited)

CMayo

New Member

 • 

17 Messages

3分前

Thanks @sandblaster!  It's good to know that my account and phone number will still be there when I re-fund the new plan in five days, but saying "that's the way it's always been" doesn't make this practice any less disingenuous. I had credit remaining on my old plan, but AT&T terminated my service and kept my credit for themselves without really making it clear that that's what was happening.

 

For any other interested parties, here's what AT&T's polite plan-change disclaimer is really saying (and what it doesn't say.)

 

"When you click 'OK,' your current service will be terminated immediately. Unused services will not carry over, you will not be credited or refunded for any remaining airtime or data on your current plan, and you will be required to prepay for your new plan before your wireless service is restored.

 

For a more painless transition, turn off the automatic payment on your current plan, purchase your new plan the day after the old plan expires, and then turn autopay back on."

Need help?
Fix, replace or check device delivery
New to AT&T Community?
New to the AT&T Community? Start by visiting the Community How-To.
New to the AT&T Community?
Visit the Community How-To.