Skip to main content
AT&T Community Forums

Contributor

 • 

1 Message

Sat, Oct 6, 2018 2:13 PM

At&t Secure Family

I keep getting popup saying family map is now secure family and to go to google play to get update.  I click on update, but there's no update.  Only options available are to uninstall or open app.  I click open, it goes back to ATT Family Map...get the popup to update again.  No way to bypass the popup, no update to download.  Cant use the app at all.  Very frustrated.

Responses

Tutor

 • 

4 Messages

2 years ago

Not true. 1. most parents arent educated in technology like their children
are.
2. Parents typically want to be buddies with their kids.

If my child disables their GPS, spoofs their GPS or trys to socially
engineer a spoof of their GPS.. They will lose their phone, their social
privileges, driving privileges.. Etc.
BoHATL

Scholar

 • 

37 Messages

2 years ago

Mine too.

But still doesn’t mean that AT&T didn’t put out a crappy product and got rid of a good one because they had some kind of insane legal concern about the privacy rights of dependents.  This app sends out constant texts to the dependent phones saying that they are being monitored.  Sorry but from a parental perspective this is ridiculous!

Azbeauty7

Teacher

 • 

17 Messages

2 years ago

Yes true...but everyone has privacy rights to a certain extent. Also the
text messages would only send notifications about every couple of months.
At least the good thing is that the app doesnt notify every time its being
used.
Azbeauty7

Teacher

 • 

17 Messages

2 years ago

Have them remove the app off of their phone if its installed on it.  Then continue to try the app on the Parent phone.  If satisfactory then everyone appears to be. 

Contributor

 • 

3 Messages

a year ago

No, the MAIN reason people are paying $10 a month for family map, now secure family, is because only the account holder can remove the tracking from the phone. All the other apps are easy to disable. However through ATT a person can stalk their wife without her knowing or her permission! Even with location services turned off it still tracks the target phone so long as that line is in account holders family plan. 

Get started...

Ask a new question