Dvdjns1's profile

Tutor

• 

5 Messages

Friday, December 9th, 2011 4:02 PM

Best Way to Connect New Sony Blu-Ray

I am a novice here (so don't laugh.)  I just got a new Sony Blu-Ray and need to know the best way to connect it to the TV/Uverse box in the bedroom (what to plug where.)  There are no other components connected there.  The Blu-Ray has WiiFii capability and the router is in another part of the house.

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Expert

• 

10.1K Messages

11 years ago

russ1623 - Probably the most important thing here is - The U-verse STB does not have any inputs for anything other than the U-verse IPTV signal. Your speed bump is - You have moved ahead on the DVD player - Blue ray requires an HDMI connection because it is 1080p & not the TV.

I think there are two simple choices - Drop back to a DVD player (cannot play blue-ray) with composite or component outputs. Or, go for a 1080p TV, The good news is the prices are way down on 1080p TVs. This is the price you pay to keep up with the improvements in technology & you are on the right side of the price curve.

Expert

• 

14.5K Messages

12 years ago

The Blu-ray player should be connected directly to the TV.  What connections options exist on the TV?

Expert

• 

10.1K Messages

12 years ago

Dvdjns1 - As TG says the output of the bluray is connected to a matching type of input on the TV & selected via a remote action.

You also mention an internet connection. THis can be wired - cat5 connection to the RG. If your STB is fed coax you may want to plug the cat5 cable into the network jack on the STB even though it is not officially supported.

For wi-fi - make sure the wireless is on in the RG. You should be able to follow a menu in the bluray. Let us know if you need more.

You can access the RG by this link -http://192.168.1.254/

Professor

• 

1.3K Messages

12 years ago

@Dvdjns1 wrote: