For the mom who gives us everything - Mother's Day gifts that connects us.
Protect yourself online
herby325's profile

Tutor

• 

2 Messages

Monday, May 12th, 2014 4:26 AM

hijacked email address

my at&t email address was hijacked to send spam messages ... these messages do not show up in my email account and I have no knowledge of them until alerted by a recipient. How can I stop this? Changing the password did not help

Master

• 

5.9K Messages

10 years ago

@herby325@  wrote:

my at&t email address was hijacked to send spam messages ... these messages do not show up in my email account and I have no knowledge of them until alerted by a recipient. How can I stop this? Changing the password did not help

Unless you've been the recent victim of a virus or other malware, I doubt the emails are actually coming from your ATT/Yahoo account. Anyone can send an email from anywhere in the world and use your address as the sender.

I can give you another scenario (which I've personally witnessed), which is most likely what happened..

When you send an email message out to everyone on your contact list at once using "send to all", "reply to all", or "forward to all" (which is what most usually people do), whomever receives that message has your address as well as the addresses of everyone on your contact list. If one of those recipient's computer is infected with a vrus or other malware, the purpose of which is to "harvest" email or live email addresses, you basically just sent them (the spammers) your email and contacts list, which precludes the neccessity to "hack" your account.