The new iPhone 15
SatireSweetie's profile

Contributor

• 

3 Messages

Tuesday, January 4th, 2011 7:10 AM

iPad and AT&T WiFi

I am thinking about buying an iPad but I am trying to decide whether I want to buy the iPad + WiFi or the iPad + WiFi + 3G. I am a student and I don't really go out of town often enough to need 3G but when I do travel I travel all over the country. Also because I'm a student, if I don't have to spend the extra money on the 3G and monthly service I'd prefer not to.

So, my question is if I already have AT&T do I have free access to AT&T WiFi Hotspots with the iPad without 3G?

Master

• 

4K Messages

13 years ago

I don't think so.  Access to AT&T WiFi for a different device (a qualifying phone) doesn't extend beyond that devices, if I'm not mistaken.

Guru

• 

831 Messages

13 years ago

Im not sure either. I have the wifi version bc everywhere i go there is wifi. Even mcdonalds has wifi now!
And i think you answered your own question. If you can spend the extra cash, just get the wifi only. Its worth it. 🙂

Contributor

• 

3 Messages

13 years ago

Is it free wifi? I know that there's wifi everywhere but most places you have to sign up and pay for it. I know if you get a Nook, you can go into any Barnes and Noble and get free wifi, I'm trying to figure out if it is the same with AT&T if you have AT&T. I once received a business card that had the information to sign into AT&T wifi free of charge, which I could use with my laptop. I suppose that's the real stressor because if it isn't free wifi I may as well buy the 3G plan and I don't live close enough to any city to drive around and see if it is free wifi or not :P.

Master

• 

7.4K Messages

13 years ago

@SatireSweetie wrote:

So, my question is if I already have AT&T do I have free access to AT&T WiFi Hotspots with the iPad without 3G?

What do you mean by you already have ATT?  I haven't tried but: