For the mom who gives us everything - Mother's Day gifts that connects us.
The new iPhone 15
renewedpurpose's profile

Mentor

• 

49 Messages

Monday, May 23rd, 2011 9:17 AM

Closed

Truely Unlimited Data?

I have an iPhone 4 and I am still grandfathered in with my old $30 unlimited data plan.  Well I recently discovered the wonderful apps HBO Go and Hulu Plus, and I have used them quite frequently to watch TV shows and movies on my iPhone recently.  I've never used this much data before and I might actually go over 5 GB usage in a month for the first time ever.  So my question is what the limit on data usage before my account gets flagged for excessive use?  Like is there a softcap on my unlimited data plan?  My iPhone is not jailbroken and I'm not tethering.  Am I in the clear since all my data usage is from Hulu.com via the Hulu Plus app, or should I be expecting a notice from AT&T that I'm subject to some overage charges?

Professor

• 

3.1K Messages

13 years ago

@DimentoGraven wrote:

@johninsj wrote:

You're not helping the OP, who simply asked at what point of using their unlimited plan would they possibly run into a hidden cap. The AUP is worded such that there is no such thing as truly unlimited usage, and AT&T has demonstrated that the thresholds for excessive use are relatively low.

If we can stay on that topic in this thread, it would be totally awesome.

The answer is, quite possibly, upwards of 5GB. Most definitely 10GB. For sure 20GB.

Translated into netflix viewing, that means roughly 15 hours of SD video, or 5 hours of HD video on the low end in a month is going to be fine. Somewhere north of double that is probably iffy. Four times that, couple months running, I would expect to get contacted for sure.

Like I stated in my post, twice, you didn't have to respond...

Anyway, the fact that this is so ildefined so "nebulous" is a problem...