Posted Aug 17, 2012
FaceTime Over Cellular Data with Mobile Share Only!

So AT&T won't charge for FaceTime over cellular data, but will restrict it to Mobile Share customers only.  What are your thoughts?

http://www.phonedog.com/2012/08/17/at-t-won-t-charge-fee-for-facetime-over-cellular-but-only-mobile-share-customers-can-use-it/

*The views and opinions expressed on this forum are purely my own. Any product claim, statistic, quote, or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer, provider, or party.
211 replies
(0) Me too
(0) Me too
Replies
(211)
(0)
  • Rate this reply
Aug 21, 2012
(0)

macinlover wrote:

I've been using AT&T as my cell phone service provider for more than 10 years, but I'm seriously considering moving to Sprint, if AT&T limits FaceTime calling to shared data plans.

There more about this here: AT&T's FaceTime limits might conflict with FCC rules | Mobile - CNET News

I understand your frustration about AT&T not allowing Facetime over cellular on existing data plans. However, there are still many free third party apps like Skype, Tango, and Google+ Hangouts that allow you to make video calls over your existing data plan.

Re: AT&T's FaceTime over cellular policy. Is it time to move to Sprint?

(0)
  • Rate this reply
Aug 21, 2012
(0)
drumn_bass, I believe Flsteve88 is referring to Facetime over Cellular. It is a new feature that is being added to the iPhone 4S and soon to be released iPhone. In the past you had to be connected to wifi in order to Facetime another iphone user. Now, you will be able to Facetime anywhere by using with wifi or your cellular data service. AT&T has announced that they will be blocking the feature for all customers unless they subscribe to the new Mobile Share data plans.

Re: WiFi over Cellular

(0)
  • Rate this reply
Aug 21, 2012
(0)

fredflyer wrote:

As I was saying...

From USA TODAY:

AT&T's limit of FaceTime may violate rules

http://usat.ly/TRXWpC