The new iPhone 15
renewedpurpose's profile

Mentor

• 

49 Messages

Monday, May 23rd, 2011 9:17 AM

Closed

Truely Unlimited Data?

I have an iPhone 4 and I am still grandfathered in with my old $30 unlimited data plan.  Well I recently discovered the wonderful apps HBO Go and Hulu Plus, and I have used them quite frequently to watch TV shows and movies on my iPhone recently.  I've never used this much data before and I might actually go over 5 GB usage in a month for the first time ever.  So my question is what the limit on data usage before my account gets flagged for excessive use?  Like is there a softcap on my unlimited data plan?  My iPhone is not jailbroken and I'm not tethering.  Am I in the clear since all my data usage is from Hulu.com via the Hulu Plus app, or should I be expecting a notice from AT&T that I'm subject to some overage charges?

Accepted Solution

Official Solution

Professor

• 

3.1K Messages

13 years ago

@renewedpurpose wrote:

should I be expecting a notice from AT&T that I'm subject to some overage charges?

No, you will not get an overage charge. If you are flagged for excessive use, you will ge a call to discuss your options which would include reducing your usage, or moving to the tiered plan.

If there is any way to use wifi to enjoy streaming video from home, you should by all means take advantage of that to reduce needless cellular data usage.

The Wireless Customer Agreement is here http://www.wireless.att.com/learn/articles-resources/wireless-terms.jsp

The bit concerning data use is here http://www.wireless.att.com/cell-phone-service/legal/index.jsp?q_termsKey=wirelessCustomerAgreement&q_termsName=Wireless+Customer+Agreement&subSection=whatAreTheIntendedPurposesOfDataServ&q_subTitle=What%20Are%20The%20Intended%20Purposes%20Of%20The%20Wireless%20Data%20Service%3F